Our President in 2013/14 was:

Douglas Gifford

He proposed the Toast to Sir Walter at our 105th Annual Dinner on 6th March 2014 in The New Club, Edinburgh 

Douglas Gifford was formerly Chair of Scottish Literature at the University of Glasgow; he is now Emeritus Professor and Honorary Research Fellow. He has written extensively on Scottish fiction, including James Hogg (1976), and Neil Gunn and Lewis Grassic Gibbon (1983). He editedScottish Literature; Nineteenth Century, 1988; with Dorothy McMillan he edited A History of Scottish Women's Writing, and with Sarah Dunnigan and Alan McGillivray, Scottish Literature in English and Scots (2002). He was on The Saltire Society Book Awards Panel from 1982 till 2011, and is presently The Faculty of Advocates Honorary Librarian for Scott's Library at Abbotsford. He is a Fellow of the Royal society of Edinburgh.


Douglas also gave a lecture to the Club: 

1998: Douglas Gifford – Inventing New Scotlands: The Achievements of Sir Walter Scott [text]